Batteries Not Included

Devils and Angels

This coming week my latest in the series: Tales of Internet Romance will be available at Breathless Press. I met my own husband online, but I know not every guy is a sweetie!  And my heroine, Cari, is not nearly as lucky with computer meet-ups as I was! I’d love to hear from readers about their own internet dating experiences!

Executive Cari Walsh has bad luck with men. Especially her most recent Internet guy, Hayward. He’s  handsome–and unexpectedly married.  But when  the angelic Gabriel steps in to rescue her from the lying devil, Cari discovers her luck and her life are about to change for the good.

Excerpt – Devils and Angels

Cari’s fingertips tingled with adrenalin. Images from her nightmares flashed in front of her panic-stricken gaze. She would see him dead before he took her baby away. She felt the world start to spin and everything went black.

As her knees buckled, Cari felt herself caught and held against a muscular chest, strong arms supporting her and keeping her from falling. “Is something wrong here?” A deep voice cut through the haze in her head. “Are you quite all right, darling? Is this man bothering you?”

Through the receding darkness, Cari saw the lightly dusted, golden-haired forearms locked around her upper body. She suddenly knew who her savior was—again. “No, I-I just felt dizzy for a moment, Gabriel. I’m fine, but if you would help me to my office so I can sit down?”

“Of course.” Ignoring Hayward, Gabriel put a solicitous arm over her shoulder, and they walked past a grinning Glenda into the office building. He accompanied her up in the elevator and down the hallway, while curious coworkers stared. Although she held her breath, Hay must have thought better of following them. He was probably gnashing his teeth out on the sidewalk.

By the time they reached her assistant’s desk, Cari was feeling much better. “Lisa, would you please hold my calls for a few moments?”

“Yes, Miss Walsh. Can I get you anything?” Lisa stood up and seemed unsure of whether to come out from behind her desk or stay where she was.

“No, Lisa, it’s okay.” Cari, now standing on her own two feet, opened her office door and beckoned Gabriel in. “Have a seat. I think we need to talk. ” If he was going to rescue her at every turn, she needed to tell him what he was saving her from—at least.

Leave a Reply

