Batteries Not Included

Housecleaning is not for sissies

You might think this is a picture of a witch about to terrorize Oz, but it’s the closest I can find to my expression at realizing my plans for having an immaculate house…now that I work from home have fallen through. Turns out that this big plus–one my husband was thrilled to hear about–ain’t happening. I work twice the hours I did at my day job and the folks around here are lucky that I actually stop to cook dinner. Other than that, I do just enough to keep the dust bunnies from forming a gang and eating the cats.

But the holidays are coming, and I am inspired today! I worked 18 hours yesterday so I can be free to spend the day cleaning! Well, I was inspired yesterday morning when I thought of it. And last night when I shut the computer off at 12:30a.m. Ok, I worked 181/2 hours.

This morning I’m far less inspired but I did promise myself. I think the dog is getting asthma from dust. So…I have begun, magic broom and machete at the ready! I will have to let you know how it goes, but I suspect the bunnies know I’m coming, so if I don’t report in anywhere by the end of the day send help!

2 responses

  1. Love the photo, Kate! House cleaning and grocery shopping have taken a back seat to my writing, too. My husband finally went shopping on Sunday. I guess he was tired of having pretzels for dinner.

    November 15, 2011 at 9:04 am

    • Can we get them to have pretzel for dinner? That would really save me time!

      November 15, 2011 at 9:14 am

Leave a Reply

