Batteries Not Included

Writing Menage while Making Meatloaf – A blog with a recipe!

This just made me laugh, then frown, then realize how many dinners I’ve burned lately.

Why a woman who is elbows deep, fingers flying in a menage between a sexy Argentine brain surgeon, a lion shifter, and a woman under a wicked stepmother’s spell should be trusted to fry bacon or clean a toilet, I’ll never know! My characters want to keep the action going, and it’s hard enough to keep track of whose toes are in whose navel without having to notice that the water has all boiled away and the nasty smell of scorching potatoes is filling the room!

I love cooking, but not when the muse is in full-speed-ahead mode. Smoke alarms are not sexy! At least my story people don’t seem to think so! That’s why I have taken to coooking things that are more forgiving. Like meatloaf. I’m not an especially precise cook, but here’s how I do it

Meatloaf
2 lbs. ground beef
1 egg
1/2 chopped onion
1 chopped carrot (veggies!)
1 stalk celery chopped
1/2 small sweet pepper chopped (more veggies! It’s a health food fiesta…ok, not)
I handful of cracker crumbs, bread crumbs, oatmeal, or 2 slices actual crumbled bread
garlic salt and pepper to taste

Squish your nice clean hands in the mixture, don’t squish too hard, you don’t want to compact it…then add tomato sauce or ketchup to moisten, a quarter of a cup usually does it.
Pat mixture into greased loaf pan and paint with more ketchup or the rest of that can of tomato sauce. Top with two or three slices of bacon and slide into oven at 350 degrees. It’s nice if you preheated, but you probably didn’t because you are still writing in your head. But it’s fine either way!

Bake about an hour and a half along with a few giant russet potatoes. They take about the same length of time so you don’t have to stop writing again for an hour and a half. By then your husband should be home, have checked the oven and reminded you that it’s looking pretty done. Put him in charge of finding veggies, although we did put quite a few in the meatloaf and I have been known to add more. Even if you forget (and setting a timer is kind of smart) this dinner will survive for a bit longer and has that homemade appeal that all authors’ husbands look for.

After all…we’re home all day eating bon bons, surely we can throw together a little dinner!

9 responses

  1. If I have any leftover rice, I toss that in my meatloaf. And I usually put in a can of black beans. πŸ™‚

    March 24, 2012 at 9:10 am

  2. I have burned WAY more meals than I care to admit while writing….way more.

    March 24, 2012 at 9:12 am

  3. I will try the can of beans next time! And don’t we all burn em lol.

    March 24, 2012 at 9:16 am

  4. Kerry, do you put the beans in whole or smash em up?

    March 24, 2012 at 9:18 am

  5. caseamajor

    Yes – I’ve burned too much Hambuger Helper than I care to remember. My kids know that when I’m on the computer they have to say someting over and over agin in rapid succession before I notice. It’s sad really. Thanks for the post. And I will say that the crock pot is the writer mom’s best friend.

    March 24, 2012 at 9:29 am

  6. I just tossed some country rips in the slow cooker with bbq sauce…oh, yeah! You’re so right Casea!

    March 24, 2012 at 9:48 am

  7. Jessica Subject

    Oh, I just learned some new things to add to my meatloaf. πŸ™‚

    Yes, I’ve burned many a meals while writing, my dh saying “It got away from you again, didn’t it?” Kids haven’t noticed yet, though. I even burnt grilled cheese sandwiches. One side was very dark, but I scraped it off. LOL

    March 24, 2012 at 10:33 am

  8. I like to make homemade beans, once I had to make them three times before they weren’t burn black

    March 24, 2012 at 10:37 am

  9. LOL. Love the post, Kate.

    April 1, 2012 at 5:59 am

Leave a Reply

