Batteries Not Included

For Ben…Teri’s Recipes

For Ben Final LG

Dear Office People,

It’s me again! Writing to you from beautiful Corbin’s Bend in Colorado. Boy people are really battening down the hatches here for winter. I gather it comes on faster than in the City, where you’re all probably planning a few more beach weekends before fall. Labor Day is coming and in my continual quest to feed my husband and Bennie, I have been looking up barbecue recipes. After the incident a bit earlier in the summer where I set my hair a little bit on fire, Roy and I have agreed that anything involving actual flames is his job, and I promised to make
 the side dishes. I found this particular recipe in a box of papers I was sorting out. It’s my grandmother’s favorite version of potato salad and it looks pretty simple, so I thought I’d share it here before I give it a try.

Boil 2 lbs of potatoes or however many you need until done. Note to self: Ask Kristen how I can tell if they are done…and how many potatoes each person might eat

Fry 4 strips of bacon until crisp, then crumble and set aside a little bit of the grease as well

Cut potatoes into good-sized pieces and also three hard-boiled eggs Note 2 to self: boil eggs

Sprinkle some apple cider vinegar over the potatoes and add some chopped onion, the crumbled bacon, and the bacon grease Some? And bacon grease? If my family at bacon grease it may explain why Ben and I are the only two left.

Add mayo, salt and pepper to taste and toss. How much is to taste…of any of these things?

Hmm…I am sure a “real” cook could handle  so many variables…and it was always delicious when Grandma made it…but I think a trip to the deli is in order. I’m getting better in the kitchen, but it is a holiday weekend after all…and I could use the time to get a little work in and maybe if I’m lucky there will be a penalty for not making it myself? I can only hope.

Have an awesome Labor Day, all! Big hugs from,

Teri Far Away

You can buy For Ben Here

Leave a Reply

