Batteries Not Included

The End of the World…as we know it.

Two men and a virgin_MDMayan Calendar

Next wekk, on the Solstice, the Mayan Calendar ends. Honestly, I think that’s all that’s going to happen, but say the ancient Mayans knew something (and didn’t just run out of room on the calendar). What does that mean to us? Well, for one thing it means that the pile of presents I’ve been gathering for Christmas is moot. I celebrate the Solstice myself, but I guess I get my own holiday, but of course with all my relatives Christmas is the big day and there are going to be one heck of a lot of ticked off kids!

But it also means that the frantic rush to get all these things done is pointless…right? If we only have 9 days to live in this particular version of reality, what should we do with them? I love writing more than just about anything Followed by reading,knitting, and cooking and gardening. Spending time with my husband and family, my friends falls right up at the top. So does watching reruns and even better first runs of Big Bang Theory.

I have lots of blogs to play on in the next week because my new book, Two Men and a Virgin is releasing this Friday, but I had to pause and think about this subject. If the world is ending on the 21st…what would I drop from my schedule? Well, among other things, any kind of arguments over ridiculous things with my husband, my mother…or anyone else. What a waste of time. And stressing over things I can’t change. Stressing in general.

What would I add? More bicycle riding, swimming and hugging. My husband, friends, family and pets! I’d also have to finish the six or seven books I am in the middle of reading. I don’t want to go into oblivion until I find out whodun it! And bubble baths…I almost never find time for them. They combine well with finishing those books.

What would you do…if the Mayans are right? There’s a copy of Two Men and a Virgin in it for one commenter!

5 responses

  1. Jessica Subject

    The world can’t end. I have too many stories to read and write. LOL If I knew for sure the world was going to end, I’d make sure my kids opened their gifts beforehand, and I’d spend every moment with them and my husband.

    I look forward to reading Two Men and a Virgin! 🙂

    December 12, 2012 at 6:57 am

  2. OH excellent plan on the gifts…now how to convince my husband we should do it now to have time to play with them!

    December 12, 2012 at 7:16 am

  3. Julianne

    I would want to spend as much time as possible with my family. Going to different places and having fun, seeing some sights.
    I like your idea about the gifts, only problem I have is, I haven’t gotten any shopping done. Oooopps!

    December 12, 2012 at 9:55 pm

  4. leann

    I would give up all the BS & just try to be happy. I would spend as much time with my loved ones as possible. I’d continue to read as many books as I can. Merry Christmas to you & yours. leann
    leamei1981@yahoo.com

    December 14, 2012 at 5:41 am

    • Merry Christmas! I agree…all excellent plans!

      December 14, 2012 at 8:07 am

Leave a Reply

